The GCVS Board of Trustees

The Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School is governed by a Board of Trustees, appointed by the state’s Commissioner of Education. The school is authorized by the state’s Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. The maximum number of members on the Board is seven, one of whom by the school’s bylaws is a parent of students at GCVS. The Board of Trustees meets once a month, typically on the second Monday of the month. Additional meetings are scheduled when necessary and this schedule is subject to change. The meetings are open to the public and in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Agendas will be posted to this web site, as well as approved minutes of past meetings.

The Board’s Role

The Board is the independent governing body of the Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School (GCVS). The school is authorized by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) and holds regular scheduled meetings open to the public, and compliant with Massachusetts open meeting laws. An annual report is drafted and published by the board on a yearly basis describing the achievements and activities of the school.

Jessica Biggie  |  jbiggie@gcvs.org

Darryl Essensa  |   Dessensa@gcvs.org

John Lunt  |   Jlunt@gcvs.org

Christina Powell  |  Cpowell@gcvs.org

Doug Wilkins  |  Dwilkins@gcvs.org

Ruth-Ellen Verock-O’Loughlin  |  rverock-o’loughlin@gcvs.org. ]

 

The following schedule of meetings for the 2017-18 school year follows the standard practice of meeting on the second Monday of the month, with an exception noted below. Meetings may be rescheduled or other meetings added as the Board sees fit throughout the year:

  • September 11, 2017
  • October 16, 2017 (October 9, 2017 is a legal holiday)
  • November 13, 2017
  • December 11, 2017
  • January 8, 2018
  • February 12, 2018
  • March 12, 2018
  • April 9, 2018
  • May 14, 2018
  • June 11, 2018
Judy will need to provide
Judy will need to provide